Driving bans to apply on both sides of Border


Driving bans to apply on both sides of Border

Driving bans will be recognised on both sides of the Border from today.

The law has been change both here in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland which will allow for mutual recognition of driving bans.

This latest road safety agreement which is in force from today was signed between the UK and Irish governments.

This will mean that drivers who have been banned for offences such as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, speeding, leaving the scene of an accident or dangerous and reckless driving can face prosecution in either jurisdiction if they continue to drive.

This needed change has been a goal between the two governments for a long time and it has finally come into effect with the signing of the Agreement on the Mutual Recognition of Driving Disqualifications, which happened on October 30, 2015.

The Irish Minister for Transport, Shane Ross said the new provision will save lives and it is also timely as Ireland pushes for the maintenance of a common travel area during the Brexit negotiations. He said:  
"The mutual recognition of driving disqualifications is an important road safety measure because it aims to target dangerous drivers on our roads.

"The disqualifications relate to drivers disqualified for reckless or dangerous driving, hit-and-run driving, and driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

"Maintaining the common travel area and our economic links with the UK are important priorities for Ireland, and this agreement will make a contribution towards that objective.

"The new measures are underpinned by an international agreement between Ireland and the UK, which comes into effect today."

The agreement was signed almost two years ago and was touted as the first such agreement between EU member states.